This Inventor’s Work! 

What if the most important inventors in history had listened to the naysayers?

If you’re like most people, you’ve dealt with a few naysayers. You might even be putting up with a few today. The following satirical story will show you the consequences of listening to those small voices. Might keep you from quitting, might not.

Jacob, a caveman, was chiseling away at a small boulder. His girlfriend, Helen, walked over to him.

“Jacob, what are you doing?” she asked.

With a smile, Jacob replied, “I’m building something. Not sure what, but I had a dream that gave me the idea.”

“What was the dream about?”

“I saw a round, flat thing rolling down a hill, like a rock of some sort. Except it was smooth and easily rolled down the hill, and kept going and going when it hit the flat ground. It was fast, too. I’ve never seen anything like it, and I want to build it in real life.”

“Why?”

“It looked like it could be useful somehow.”

“So basically, you’re out here in the hot sun, beating on a rock, trying to build something you saw in a dream?” Helen snickered.

“Yeah.”

Helen burst out laughing. “Do you realize how ridiculous you sound? I can’t believe you’re serious.”

“I am serious. I think my creation will change the world someday.”

“Round, flat things rolling down hills and falling off the edge of the world. How useful.” Helen laughed as she strolled away.

Jacob frowned, but continued to chisel the rock.

The next day, Jacob was still working on his project. His father, Roy, approached him.

“Still carving that thing from your dream, huh?” Roy asked.

“Yep,” Jacob replied.

“Tell me again, what do you plan to do with this invention?”

“I don’t know yet. But I have this feeling that it’ll help man do many things. For example, give us a better way to get from one cave to another.”

“Better way? What’s wrong with walking?”

“Nothing. But why not have a faster way to get there?”

“There is a way; it’s called running.”

“Faster than that, and less tiring.”

“No thanks. I’ll stick with the invention I was born with: my feet. I don’t need some fancy-schmancy ‘creation’ to help me do what man has always been doing.”

“Fine,” Jacob said in exasperation.

“I swear, people can’t be satisified with anything today. He turned and headed back to the cave, muttering, “Always trying to fix something that ain’t broken.”

The next day, Jacob was chistling a different boulder. His friend, Richard, came over with a couple of people.

“This is Jacob, the guy I was telling you about,” he announced to his guests. “I told you he’d be here. He’s been doing this for five days.” He looked closely at the rock. “He said he was building something round, and this rock isn’t even round. Wait, isn’t this a different rock?”

“Yes,” Jacob confirmed. “I messed up the first one.”

“Hey, Jacob,” the man called out. “Is it true that you’re building something you saw in a dream?”

“Yeah.”

“How’s it working out so far?”

“Not so good, but…”

The woman interrupted, “And this is supposed to help people?”

“Yeah.”

“How?”

Jacob sighed. “By helping them move around faster. I’m not sure how, yet, but people are supposed to ride on the thing I’m building. It’s supposed to roll them wherever they need to go.”

“Ride on top of a rolling rock?” the man asked.

“I told you he lost his mind,” Richard commented.

“No!” Jacob snapped. “I’m trying to make the rock smaller so I can put it on something that people can ride on.”

The three visitors stared blankly. It was the woman who spoke up.

“Jacob, you need to get out of the sun. Get some rest or something. Anything to take your mind off saving the world.”

They all left a very angry man with his project.

For weeks, friends, family, and strangers continued to make fun of Jacob and his invention. Jacob grew tired of the criticism and decided to stop working on it. His project was never finished.


Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

