4 Great Benefits of Walking!

Walking: one of your new favorite pastimes.

If you’re like most people, you’ve experienced some randomly warm to scorching hot days as recently as this article. The great news is that spring is right around the corner, eliminating most people’s excuse for not exercising. One of the easiest, and most fun and beneficial exercises is walking.

Walking is one of my favorite things to do. It started in my early teens, when I was too impatient to wait for a bus to show up and take me to what was a 15-minute walk away from home. Over 10 years later, here I am with a driver’s license and access to a car, and I still prefer walking, unless I’m going to another city. There are several methods to my madness. They might help you make a life change, might not.

1. It’s Easy to Pass the Time

There’s an old saying that if you’re not having fun, you’re not doing it right. For me, just walking is fun. But I’m pretty much addicted to music, audiobooks, narrated horror stories, etc. So if you’re a fellow music lover, a nice walk along the road less traveled while singing and dancing to your favorite music could be your new favorite pastime. Or maybe you enjoy a good horror story. Why not go to the YouTube app and look up Mr. Nightmare or some Creepypasta to listen to during your moonlight stroll?

2. You Can Get Some Work Done

If you’re like most network marketers, you probably give out flyers and cards. Maybe you have other tools, such as polybags and dropcards. Walking around for the heck of it gives you ample opportunity to market your business. Walking all over town with your marketing material naturally puts you in front of countless more prospects than standing in one spot or pacing the same two blocks or so. I’ve even bumped into several former classmates a decade after graduation, and introduced them to my company.

Speaking of polybags, these are an amazing marketing tool that do most of the work for you. You put cards into a little clear bag that has adhesive tape on the back, then stick the bag onto a telephone pole or something else in a public place for passerby to take your cards. Combined with a great walking routine, you may end up posting enough polybags to get a dozen or so prospect calls within a week, even if you take a few days off.

3. It is a Simple Exercise

The average person walks a speed of 3 miles per hour. That same person will burn 80 to 140 calories per mile. That adds up to 240 to 420 calories per hour of walking! Of course, things like weight, age, and gender make a difference. There are several ways to calculate the exact amount, such as www.caloriecount.com and an app such as Pedometer.

The more you walk, the more you get used to it. You can start small with 15 minutes per day. Then you can work your way up to 20 minutes per day. Before you know it, you’ll have a high endurance for walking, going a few hours without getting tired. On a warm day, it is common for me to walk 3+ hours in one day.

4. It Inspires Ideas

Walking is one of my favorite ways to brainstorm. When I’m out there, I tend to attract great ideas for the blog, my business, my stories, and so on. Maybe it’s because of the randomness that comes with the territory.

For instance, while simply observing the people around me, I ended up creating a record 15 quotes in one day for a quote book I’m working on. Another example is when I randomly came up with the idea to write ads on the back of paper placemats and order some with professional ads to put in restaurants. Many of the things I’ve written about in my visualization stories have come from my observations while walking.

If you’re not the walking type, I highly recommend you change your mind. Not only is it great exercise, it can benefit you from a mental standpoint.


Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

