Why Not Record Your Business Presentations?

I can think of 4 great reasons to do it!

I’m just curious, if your team had a business opportunity presentation, and everyone somehow died the next day, how would anyone know what took place at that presentation?

My colleague asked me that question during an interesting conversation. Actually, he may have phrased it a lot better than what I just typed. The point is, how can anybody outside of our team know what’s going on during our team presentations if no one is recording it? As we discussed his suggestion, he helped me see some great benefits of recording presentations.

Advice from People Outside Your Circle

If you’re like most people, your company has a few social media pages. Some of us have Facebook pages and groups dedicated to our particular team. Uploading recorded presentations to these websites — and YouTube — will allow people outside those in your office to see how you’re doing. People in higher ranks can watch these videos and offer tips for the speakers to get better. Also, those who have no experience in hosting a presentation can learn from you.

Practice Makes Improvement

Speaking of learning, the speaker can look back at these videos to see how they’re doing. Having a video they can review at will means that they can see little things that went unnoticed while they were standing in front of the room. They’ll be able to see their own body language that may have bothered the audience. They’ll notice when they’re speaking too low, or too loudly. They’ll be able to see the reactions of their audience. Maybe the audience was bored during some parts that can be left out next time. Maybe they were confused about something you said, and you can rephrase that part next time.

Show it to Prospects

Who says the business owners should be the only ones watching these videos? If you’re the speaker, why not invite a friend over and simply ask for their opinion on how you did? Then you’d be exposing them to your business without aggressively selling at them. If you’re not the speaker, everybody knows that your loved ones would rather speak to the guy from out of town with the briefcase. Either way, you win!

People Can See How Much Fun You’re Having

By “people,” I mostly mean distant colleagues, loved ones, and other prospects. Another one of my colleagues has a saying: if you ain’t having fun, you ain’t doing it right. In and outside my company, business presentations tend to have some funny moments that would be fun to rewind and watch over again, and to show people.

The first time I recorded my team presentation happened to be a teammate’s 78th birthday. My guest-turned-teammate, who is Spanish, sang a Spanish rendition of “Happy Birthday to You.”


Something else I witnessed that day was a great lesson disguised as a mistake. I didn’t have enough room on my phone to record the whole thing.

Before you record your presentation, make sure your camera has plenty of space.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

