How to Use “The List!”

The List is a great way to turn a maybe into a yes or no.

Everybody knows that a “no” is better than being ignored. We know this because many prospects agreed to go to our meetings or expect a followup call, only to ditch us. Then we call them over and over again, and find out that they’ve apparently left planet Earth. Would it be okay if we stop them from wasting our time from the start?

There is a simple way to do that: when following up or leaving voicemail, tell your prospect that you may have to scratch them off your list. If you’re like most people, you feel a slight sense of dread at this phrase, compared to something like “I’ll just cross you off my list.” This is because using the word “scratch” in this context has a subconscious effect on us.

For instance, after they give their excuse for why they missed the presentation, you can say:

“Okay, not a problem, Jane. We’ll be having another presentation soon, if you’d like to set a new appointment. Or should I just scratch you off my list?”

If you’re leaving your second voicemail, you can say:

“Great afternoon, Scott. This is Jibriel Holloway. This is my second message regarding the home business you wanted to know more about. If I don’t hear from you within 48 hours, I’ll go ahead and scratch you off my list. Hope to talk to you soon. Bye!”

If you’re calling in regards to a missed interview call, you can say:

“Great afternoon, Natalie. This is Jibriel Holloway. You and I agreed that I would be calling you at this time for your interview. If I don’t hear from you within 48 hours, I’ll go ahead and scratch you off my list. Hope to talk to you soon. Bye!”

No one likes to be scratched off the list. Most people will view those words as a “now or never” situation, and are more likely to either call you back or give you a yes or no on the spot. Even if they say no, at least you know whether they were wasting your time. Some people are just afraid to say no, and your role is to expose them to your opportunity, not convince them into a yes.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

2 thoughts on “How to Use “The List!””

Leave a Reply

