What Did a Car Accident Teach me About Purpose?

Interesting fact: I was once hit by a car.

On the night of January 9, 2012, I was hit by a car. I was completely unharmed. There’s an interesting story about that night. Here’s what I wrote in my journal when I got home.

I visited my mother and stayed longer than I intended to. So long that I wouldn’t get home until at least an hour after the time I usually go to bed. And I was pissed because at the time, I had a strict routine of bed by 11:00PM, wake up at 5:30AM.

I was on my way to the bus stop. I looked both ways and crossed. A car suddenly turned the corner and hit me pretty hard in my hip. I slid slightly onto the hood of the car, getting knocked off my feet, and fell forward onto the street. My thick sweater, my hoody, and my jacket softened the car’s impact to where it didn’t hurt. Then they broke my fall. My gloves kept me from scraping my hands on the street. In other words, I got hit by a car, and turned out completely 100% unharmed.

I recall four specific emotions: surprise, gratitude, curiosity, and, believe it or not, amusement. I don’t remember fear. I was amused because it was like one of those “this can’t get any worse… BOOM!” moments from a cartoon.

At first, I thought somebody was running and bumped into me from behind by accident. When I saw that it was a car that hit me, gratitude became the biggest emotion of all. Here I am, this little guy against a car, and not only am I still alive, but I didn’t get even a minor injury on me. Plus, the situation completely broke my negative train of thought. Now, I was focused on gratitude.

Grateful that I wore all those clothes, although I dislike wearing layers of clothing. Grateful that my definitive purpose kept me safe. Grateful that I didn’t hit my head. Grateful that I could walk away in a much better mood. Grateful that I could walk, period. And I can go on.

Whenever I have a setback, I ask myself what I did or thought to attract it into my life. Also, I look for the lesson to be learned from the setback. Well, I was upset at possibly doing non-productive activities tomorrow while having little motivation to work on my business and personal development. Which often happens when I wake up late. I believe this was the universe’s way of saying, “Stop whining! You’re doing what you’re supposed to, and you will accomplish what you were brought here for!”

I got hit by a car and just happened to be wearing clothes thick enough to completely cushion the blow. Then I just happened to fall on my gloved hands onto the opposite side of the road, which just happened to be empty. I don’t believe in coincidences, least of all when so many of them happen at once. I do have a mission to complete, I’m on track, and this is proof.

As I walked away, I was amused at how quickly my mood changed from negative to positive because of a car accident of all things. And the fact that I wanted to write all my thoughts in my journal as soon as I got home, and staying up later suddenly was no longer a problem.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

