3 Benefits of Waking Up Early!

Staying up late may not be as productive as you think!

If you’re like most people, you probably dislike waking up, period, let alone the early morning. However, waking up early has some amazing advantages.

I have a love-hate relationship with early rising. As of this writing, I’ve been waking up at 8:00am and earlier for the past week. That was after months of staying up past 1:00am. There’s just something about the quiet stillness of the night that I really like. And then there’s that sudden feeling of late-night motivation. You know, where you want to go to sleep, then your mind starts telling you great ideas and all the things you can do tomorrow, but “should” do right then?

I often forget that early rising has similar benefits. It also has bonuses such as:

1. Lowers Stress

The past few weeks of writing Open Letter for Men & Boys have been very stressful. In fact, I was staying up late and waking up late almost every day while it was in development. I would go to bed angry at what I learned from my research, and wake up the same way.

On the few days when I did wake up early, I found myself feeling better. Not just in the morning, but throughout the day. Even when I went back to the stressful sources of research, I got over it quicker than I would have on a stay-up day.

2. You Get More Things Done

As a writer, I can attest to how addicting it can be to work on your craft late at night. Like I said, I know the feeling of laying in bed, and suddenly having ideas that I somehow didn’t have in the daytime. I’d like to tell you that going to bed early and waking up early will give you the same results.

But I won’t! The energy that comes from early rising gives me even more incentive to write. In the morning, my mind tends to flow with big ideas, and I’m all too ready to jot them down. I’m more motivated to write because I have yet to be distracted by daily tasks. Writing is just an example, by the way; replace it with your line of work.

There is something so deeply satisfying about waking up before the sun, reading some positive stuff, having breakfast, being dressed to leave, adding a few dozen to hundred plus words to something I’m writing, visualizing my goals, going for a walk, hitting the gym for an hour, getting some work done, and being one of the first in line in a place like the post office, all before 9:00am!

3. Early to Rise, Early to Bed

Adapting to a different sleep schedule causes you to reset your body clock. If you wake up at, let’s say 6:00am, it becomes more difficult to stay up past midnight. Whereas waking up at 10:00am can make it more difficult to feel tired at a reasonable time.

I don’t know about you, but I feel lethargic when I sleep late. I get frustrated for missing so much time, and feel like procrastinating. It takes a while for me to be motivated to do anything important. Ironically, I also feel the need to rush.

Whereas when I wake up at 7:00am or before, I feel energized. I can’t wait to start the day. I want to get stuff done. One of the best of all, is that I get tired at a decent hour, like 11pm, and can wake up early the next day.


Those are my reasons for waking up early. I find 11:00pm to be the perfect time for me to go to bed. 6:00am is my favorite time to wake up. Do with that what you will.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

