When Should You Give Them Your Website?

A simple way to avoid endless rounds of phone tag.

I’m just curious, have you ever spoken to a prospect over the phone, then they asked for your website so they could “check it out later”? Don’t fall for it!

Most people have busy lives, and things tend to come up between your initial call and the time that you and your prospect agree on a followup. Maybe they’ll get distracted by work or family. Maybe they’ll wait until the last minute, only for something to come up and they have to delay it until tomorrow. Everybody knows what happens when we wait until tomorrow.

In my early years, I often gave the prospect my website without using the following strategy. Only to follow up with them and find out that they didn’t see it. So I set up another followup time. Only to hear the same bad news. With each new call came another round of did-you-see-it-yet tag.

So here’s the (real) deal. When the prospect asks for your website, say the following:

“Paul, I’m just curious, are you in front of a computer right now?”

“No.”

“How soon do you think you can get to a computer with the internet?”

“I get home at 5:00, so I’ll be able to use my computer at 5:30.”

“Okay, so if I call you at 5:30, you’ll be in front of your computer, ready to visit the website right then?”

“Yes.”

“Okay, Paul. I’ll just write this in my planner, and I’ll call you at 5:30.”

If you give up your site when the prospect is away from a computer, you’re also giving your power away. If you refrain from giving your website until they’re ready, you’re showing them that you’re a professional waiting on them to show that they’re serious. Your time something to respect, not to be written on a paper towel or memorized by someone with an 8-second attention span.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

