Is Your Company a Scam?

Pyramids are in Egypt, not our company!

Everybody knows the feeling of hearing that question. Or maybe you’ve heard one of these: “Is this one of those pyramids? Is this a legit company?” I have a couple of true stories that can help you in that situation. One story will show you why you shouldn’t chase prospects. The other will show you a fun response for when someone asks if your company is a scam.

I once had an email conversation with a Craigslist prospect. She asked me the name of my company, so I told her. Later that day, she replied with nothing more than a link. A link to a website that called my company a scam right there in the domain.

Having never heard of the website, I clicked the link. The site turned out to be a decoy meant to swerve the skeptics and provide facts that verify the legitimacy of the company.

I learned something rather interesting from that experience. Everybody knows somebody who just looks for the negative in every situation. No matter how good the situation is, no matter what we tell them, they have a problem with it. The prospect showed me that this also applies to the people we show our business to. My prospect clearly didn’t go to the “scam” website; she just took one look at the name of a random website and decided that, that was all she needed to know.

Most people would chase a prospect for doing that. A year prior, I would have sent an email telling her all about how my company is legitimate, and we won all these accolades, and we’ve been around for this many years, and we’re affiliated with this, and our founders did that.

You know what? That little 17-page essay I would have sent her would have ended up right in her trash folder. She probably wouldn’t even have read it. Hell, she didn’t even read the website she sent me!

By not going to the “scam” website, she showed me that she wasn’t serious about joining my company. A serious person would do their research through multiple sources. A serious person would keep it moving, even if the first thing they found was negative. That’s why my colleagues made the website; to test who is serious and who is not.

If a domain name or a single bad review is all it takes to scare your prospect away, then that person isn’t worth your time. There’s an old saying that goes “some will, some won’t, so what? Someone’s waiting.”

As for what to say when someone asks you about the legitimacy of your company, here’s the story. On my 24th birthday, I was in a parking lot, when someone noticed my car magnet. After asking if my service could help her with something she needed, she asked me if my company was legit. So I said this:

“With all due respect, miss, if I wanted to scam you, do you really think I’d tell you that I want to scam you?”

She just laughed and wrote down my phone number.

When you think about it, “is this a scam/pyramid/legit company?” is a pretty stupid question. This response helps the prospect see that and drop the subject. No need for a speech on how great your company is; just keep the focus on them and throw their question right back.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

