Do You Have Naysayers?

A great true story of karma.

If you’re like most people, you’ve had your share of naysayers ever since you started building your dream. Friends and family whom you would expect to stand by you suddenly turned their backs on you. After they finished pointing fingers and laughing, of course. I have a couple of stories about my naysayers and what became of them. Might help you in dealing with your naysayers, might not.

When I first joined my company, there was a close friend of my mother’s who was there when my mother got the flyer that was forwarded to me. By “close friend,” I mean she and my mother were best friends and coworkers for about 5 years by that point. She had been to my high school graduation, and bought my mother and I to dinner that night, paying for us all. My mother and I had a tradition of going to her house for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and 4th of July feasts. When I was younger, I saw her as an aunt. So of course, she was the first person to get a grand opening call because I just knew she would gladly support me and join my company to become a great teammate.

Hahaha… nope.

This woman was against the company from the moment my mother got the flyer. She didn’t care about my company’s presentations, success stories, compensation plan, anything. All she cared about was how little I was getting paid, as we get paid in commissions. Of course, she would get on my case about that: “Get a real job, Jibriel. They’re not paying you. You got to leave this company. This is a scam.” On and on. Sound familiar?

In 2012, her job started laying people off. She didn’t get laid off, but it did give her a big scare. Later, the job cut employee salaries. So she — in her mid-fifties — got a second job. Long story short, this 50-something-year-old woman went from living in a large, single-family house, to a townhouse. And she’s still working two jobs, with very little time off.

Oh, by the way, she now respects what I do, and even praises the fact that I’m with what she calls a great company.

At the same time, I had the same problem with another friend of my mother’s. I’ve known her since childhood, and she helped a lot when my mother was in rehab. She was my second choice for a grand opening call. Let’s just say she didn’t like my company as much as the first friend :). No matter how many testimonies I had, including gifts for her, no matter how many checks I showed her, she didn’t like it at all, let alone want to refer people to me.

She eventually moved from New Jersey to Georgia. It took her about a year to find a new job.

There’s an old saying that God will get your naysayers/enemies back for you. And God may even let you watch. What’s more, God might even bless you while they watch!

So those of you who are dealing with naysayers, keep your Why’s in clear sight. If you don’t have at least one Why, here’s one: “To earn residual income and time freedom, while my naysayers are wasting their lives away working to make someone else rich.” If you give up, you’ll likely end up just like the naysayers who have no dreams. Success is the best form of revenge, and if you stick and stay, the universe will tell naysayers off for you!

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

1 thought on “Do You Have Naysayers?”

Leave a Reply

