No, Seriously, What do You Do?!

How to answer when someone asks where you work!

I’m just curious, why DO we make such a big mess out of answering that question? When talking to friends and family, we dance around the answer. When giving out cards, we ignore people who ask what it’s all about. When advertising on job sites, we leave out the most important thing: what they’ll be doing! How’s that working out for you?

I once attended a networking event where the speaker told us about someone he met at a previous workshop. He asked what they did for a living, and the person stammered through some vague answer. The speaker then said, “You’re in network marketing, aren’t you?” The person said they were. The speaker replied, “I could tell because only network marketers make that answer so complicated.”

Some time ago, I met a friend of my mother’s, who asked me what I do. I used Tom “Big Al” Schreiter’s “you know how?” line to tell her that I sell affordable health plans. She got excited and told me that she’s been meaning to drop the insurance plan she has now for something better, and that her grandson had no health plan at all. Then asked for a card. Later, she called and said that her grandson wants to attend an opportunity presentation. The opportunity part never took off, but I did sign them up as customers.

All because I simply told her what I do!

The lesson is to get rid of the vague, generic answers and tell people what you do. Preferably in a way that makes as big an audience as possible want to know more. What if that person actually needs what you have? How would they know if you just tell a stranger, “Well… I help bring… families back t-t-t-together,” and they’re a single non-parent?

The Tom Schreiter line that I’m referring to is, “Well, you know how (problem you solve)? Well, what I do is, (how you solve the problem).” For instance:

“You know how insurance is almost impossible to afford? Well, what I do is sell affordable plans that do what insurance won’t.”

“You know how this country is having a healthcare crisis? Well, what I do is build and lead a team of people to put a stop to it.”

“You know how hospital bills are almost impossible to pay? Well, what I do is help people get rid of those bills.”

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

One thought on “No, Seriously, What do You Do?!”

Leave a Reply

