How NOT to Promote Personal Development!

A must-read for anyone who wants to introduce loved ones to personal development.

As students of personal development, we all have moments when we wish everyone else was more positive and grateful in life. We wish they understood the power that their mindset has over their lives. What better people to bring to the light than friends and family? I have a great story that details two very different introductions to personal development. Might show you some right and wrong ways to promote it, might not.

In 2007, my mother became a born-again Christian. She also had the “brilliant” idea of bringing me — someone who was neutral toward the idea of a God — along. This began with constantly trying to convince me to believe in God and telling me all about how great God is. And bringing up Hell and how God is watching whenever she was mad at me. On several nights, she woke me up just to make me watch Joel Osteen with her. I’d try to go back to sleep, but she’d just wake me up and have me sit through the whole hour. Mom also brought me to her church every week.

Needless to say, I hated this. Mom’s efforts to get me into religion only backfired and I wanted to be as far away from it as possible. After a few months, she stopped.

In 2009, I met some people who were different from those I was used to being around. People who were generally positive and knew how to open minds to amazing ideas. We worked in the same company, so I spent a lot of time with them and managed to absorb their mannerisms. Hearing them talk about and work towards their big dreams and goals caused me to do some work of my own in that direction. They also helped me to become more confident and driven at a time when I was withdrawn and didn’t know what to do with my life.

Of course, their secret was personal development. As I wanted more of what they were doing, I got into the books, videos, speakers, etc. they were into. Ironically, one of the first speakers I was recommended was Joel Osteen. I began listening to Joel’s sermons, and he went on to become — and still is — one of my favorite speakers. Even more ironic is that by the time I became a fan, Mom wanted nothing to do with him because he’s “too corny.”

So what happened?

I was neutral towards God and religion before Mom tried to convert me. When it was constantly shoved down my throat, I hated everything about it. On the other hand, when I saw the results of personal development without being preached to and made to do it, I took action on my own. In the process, I even grew to believe in God, which is what I’m referring to when I say “The Universe” on this blog.

This is because most people don’t want what is forced on them. Most people tend to resist and even despise the things that people try to make them do. However, if you can show them how they can benefit from personal development, religion, network marketing, etc., then you are more likely to bring them on board. Remember, people always want to know what’s in it for them.

Another thing to keep in mind is that your loved ones knew you before you began personal development. If you’re new and you try to get them involved, they’ll see the old you preaching about something you don’t even believe in. There’s an old saying that people want to talk to the guy with the suit and briefcase from out of town. So you may want to have your colleagues do the talking.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

