How NOT to Talk to People!

I have a great satirical story that might show you where you’re failing at talking to prospects.

There are two types of people in the world: those who talk to people, and those who talk at people. Many salespeople make the mistake of talking at people. The following story shows how most salespeople talk. Are you guilty of this?

“Good afternoon, this is Gabor Electronics. My name is Caroline. How may I help you?”

“Hi. My name is Bobbi. I just saw your commercial on the Home Shopping Network. For the Tyclone blender.”

“You’ve made the right choice in this blender, ma’am. Our Tyclone model has been selling like crazy this week.”

“Oh, do you have any more in stock?”

“Yes, we do. You know, Gabor has been around since 1997.”

“Oh. Great.”

“Yep. Our products have been in all sorts of magazines and TV shows. The news even spoke about our tenth anniversary on TV.”

“Oh, that’s very interesting,” Bobbi said with disinterest.

“Our founder was once on the cover of Forbes, and he won several awards for his vision. It’s amazing how far he came. It all started with-”

“And the Tyclone is 2 payments of $19.99, right?” Bobbi interrupted.

“Yes, it is. You can’t find a better price than that. One the main reasons our company is the best is because we’re the least expensive.”

“I’ll take it.”

“Great. I have the Tyclone, myself. It’s definitely worth your money.”

“I hope so.”

“I used to have a blender from another company. Not saying any names, but it broke on me! The Tyclone, at least, comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee.”

“That’s nice. Now about my Tyclone…”

“Would you like to hear about our other products and accessories, Bobbi?”

“No, I’ll just order the Tyclone.”

“Maybe you’d like the set of cups. Or the thermos. Or the pitcher. Or… hello? Bobbi? Bobbi, are you still there? Can you hear me?”

Unfortunately, there are a lot of salespeople just like Caroline. They talk their prospect’s ear off about company history and accolades, and their personal opinions on the products, when the prospect doesn’t even care about that stuff.

There’s an old saying that people are tuned into the WIIFM radio station. What’s in it for me? So listen to your prospects to find out what they really want, and help them from there. Ask them questions about themselves to learn about their needs and objections.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

