How do Rewards Affect Your Goals?

An inspirational story of disappointment, Law of Attraction, and little white castles.

Obviously, the promise of a reward causes most people to want the goal even more. That’s why the personal development and business worlds love to talk about our “Whys.” From my experience, rewards are a bit more powerful than that. Your focus on the reward can manifest ways to achieve your goal that you wouldn’t expect. I have a great true story about this subject.

A few years ago, I found two coupons for infinite White Castle chicken sliders for 99 cents each. I loved their grilled chicken, so I decided to set a goal: if I got a new member before September 30 (the coupon expiration date), I’d use the coupons. Later, I changed the goal so I would use one coupon for the first member and the other if I get a second member. On the 15th, I had my sponsor talk a prospect from Roselle, NJ into coming to our Linden, NJ office. And the guy became a customer! Interestingly, this took place on the evening before I had an appointment in an area that happens to be near White Castle. So 10 grilled chicken sandwiches, yay!

By this time, I had misplaced the other coupon. Four days later, a different prospect enrolled themselves as a member before I even woke up that morning. There was some confusion on his part, so he soon declined his membership. How interesting that after I lost the second coupon, I would get a second customer, only for them to change their mind.

So today’s advice is to set rewards for your short-term goals. Who knows? You might even attract a sale before you wake up the next day!

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

2 thoughts on “How do Rewards Affect Your Goals?”

Leave a Reply

