How to Market Online Without Looking Stupid!

Step one: stop spamming.

There’s an old saying that nobody likes to be sold. Most people do business with people they like, know, and trust. This is especially true in social media marketing, where we are interacting with strangers all over the world from behind a computer screen.

Look at it this way: if you’re reading this, you’ve likely seen  a few social media profiles that show nothing but ads. Did you really browse through all those ads to figure out whether they had something you wanted to buy? Did you stick around to ask them about their opportunity? If you’re like most people, you immediately left that page without a care in the world about what they were selling. And then canceled their friend request. Sad thing is, a lot of us continue making those ads.

Now look at the other side. When you post pictures of yourself and your colleagues, type out your thoughts, talk about things that you’re interested in, etc. don’t you usually get likes and comments, even from complete strangers? This is because you’re showing people your vastly more interesting, human side. They see you as a living, breathing person that they might even want to be their friend and/or follow on social media.

Which one of the above people would YOU rather build a business team with?

Once upon a time, I was “that guy.” Years ago, I made a Twitter account just to place ads and talk about my business. I worked at it for several weeks. No one followed me, no one interacted with me, and no one cared 😥

In July 2015, I made an Instagram page with the intention of just putting quotes on it. The only thing related to my business was the link on my profile, which anyone visiting my page will instantly see. Eventually, I had the idea to use Instagram to share articles and videos of business strategies with other entrepreneurs. For that reason, I attracted hundreds of business-minded followers. I also make sure to put my website in the pictures.

Another example is Google+ On my first day of using it, I joined a Google+ MLM community. Years ago, I would have simply posted my website and left. I never got any feedback from that strategy, by the way. This time, I posted an essay I wrote regarding things I learned about business. The essay ended up being more popular than I expected, and one person started a conversation with me. We talked for a while — really talked, none of the pitching back and forth — and one day later, she introduced me to a Facebook group of entrepreneurs.

The person taught me another lesson. Just because you have a new friend doesn’t mean that you should discuss your opportunity every day or “cleverly” use something they said in your pitch. I ended up ignoring that person within 2 weeks for that reason.

When you’re on social media, post things that add value to people. Something that can inspire, teach, help, and/or entertain people. Maybe put funny pictures and videos on your page. For great measure, watermark some pictures with your website. Maybe start a Facebook group for fans of things you like. Maybe join an online group/community and post related things on those pages. Some people will click your name and (hopefully) your website will be where they can see it, without looking spammy.

Relationships are what get people to stay on your business team, yet its a forgotten art. Too many salespeople are in it to make a quick buck, and that’s it. There are billions of salespeople out there constantly fighting for people’s attention. Visit any online sales forum or group, or even a live event, and you’ll see salespeople hounding everyone about their opportunity. Want to stand out in those places? Stop cramming your business down their throats and show people how you can help them. Can you teach people how they can grow their business? Do you know people who need what they’re selling? Then help them out. They’ll be so shocked, they might end up returning the favor!

To a potential client, the only thing that separates you from everyone else is you! They’re so used to the “car salesmen,” that a salesperson who actually wants a no-strings-attached conversation is a breath of fresh air to them. When you show yourself as someone they can relate to, they’re more likely to talk to you. When you build honest relationships and casually show them your business when they ask, they will be more receptive. When you show that you’re willing to help them, they will trust you. When you show that you’re more interested in helping them pay their bills than your own, they take your advice.

When you talk to people for the sole purpose of telling them about your business, you alienate them. Who wants to talk to some fool who feels the need to bring up their “totally epic best company EVAR!!” in every other sentence? You might eventually get sales and teammates, but they won’t last long. Second-rate advertising leads to second-rate results.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

