Are You in a Personal Development Trap?

There’s an old saying that personal development makes all the difference in your life.

You hear it all the time: “Success begins in the mind first. Read all the books, listen to all the tapes, study successful people and learn to think like them.” Personal development definitely plays a big role in success. However, it’s very common for network marketers to believe that it’s all they need. So they end up doing a lot of self-help, while decreasing actual work. Here’s a story of my experience, and what I learned. Maybe you can relate and learn from my mistakes.

In my early years of business, I gave into the idea that my mindset is the reason I wasn’t getting results. I kept hearing all about how successful people read this book over and over, listen to this speech several times a day, say these affirmations, etc., and that’s why they’re successful. So I decided to study everything that moved. Visualization, Law of Attraction, the subconscious mind, you name it.

Before I knew it, I was a self-help/motivation junkie. Headphones were playing personal development and motivational audio almost all day. And playing binaural beats all night, every night while I was asleep. If I wasn’t listening to something educational or motivational, I was reading it or watching it. Usually with silent subliminal audio in the background. I wrote my life goals, read affirmations, made dream boards, all that good stuff, every single day.

The reason I did so much of it was because I believed that by just changing my mindset and getting super motivated, the right clients and entrepreneurs would come to me via pseudo-LoA. Work was only about 10% of my strategy, compared to 90% personal development. Plus, much of my work was being done the wrong way, but that’s another story. Needless to say, I didn’t get those clients. But hey, at least I was happier, right?

My wake up call came in the form of being contacted by and signing up for 2 different coaching programs within a few weeks of each other. As Law of Attraction would have it, one of them worked for T. Harv Eker, who wrote my favorite book at the time. This coach was concerned about how most of my reported daily action steps involved reading, watching motivational speeches, etc. I told him why I was doing it, and this is exactly what he told me:

“T. Harv Eker never read the [Secrets of the Millionaire Mind] declarations, then had a bag of money fall into his lap. You need to get to work.”

My other coach also called out my personal development obsession. Particularly the fact that I had a whole daily routine from 5:30AM to around 7:00AM consisting of motivational videos, reading personal development, writing goals, and other things. He used another trainee — who worked in a supermarket — as an example. He asked the trainee when his boss ever told him to start stocking the shelves and preparing the store during open hours.

I got the message. I cut down on personal development, and focused more on work and learning new skills. Lo and behold, it worked, and I began actually earning money!

As foolish and simple as it sounds, a lot of marketers fall into this trap, and even encourage others to jump in with them. Again, personal development is important. What’s even more important is to make sure you have a balance between it, and taking action. Reading As a Man Thinketh is an activity. Leaving dropcards all over your local mall is an action.

I’ll leave you with a quote from Tom “Big Al” Schreiter on personal development. You can listen to the full interview here.

“Personal development is important. We have to have a good attitude, be positive, have goals, but most people who join networking already have that. They are missing the skills to get the job done. That’s why I just concentrate on skills. They are all missing skills as it is a brand new profession for them. Most people have a great attitude already, so just keep with the skills.”

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

2 thoughts on “Are You in a Personal Development Trap?”

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours as of
    late, but I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article
    like yours. It’s beautiful value enough
    for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made
    good content material as you probably did, the internet will likely be
    a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

