How to Find Your Purpose

Is there a plot twist in your story?

There’s an old saying that when you make a plan, God laughs. In 2011, I set a goal to be the presenter at my company’s weekly meetings. I set a deadline for the goal to be a certain date in 2013. For weeks, I practiced at home and watched/read about public speaking. Eventually, I found the nerve to ask to do an entire presentation in front of the team.

Presenting turned out to be one of those things that sound cool, but aren’t as fun when you actually do them. The great and important thing is I did it.

One day, my sponsor asked me to teach the team about a marketing tool I was using, called Phonevite. I took his offer, stood in front of the room, and showed them how to use it. Basically, I was doing what I had been doing as a presenter. Weeks later, I was asked to do it again. A few weeks after that, I did it again. The more I did it, the less stage fright I had and the more confident I became. I soon began teaching the team about other methods and showing them videos and articles about awesome strategies that I would find.

Around this time, I learned about standing out to prospects by providing value without setting off the “salesman alarm.” One takeaway was that educating people will make me stand out because only a minority of people help and teach others in our industry. This, and the feeling of “I wish I’d known this sooner,” gave me a passion for sharing tips with fellow entrepreneurs beyond my team. I expanded into other outlets such as this blog and a Facebook page to help people in and outside my company.

And it all started with me training for a very different role! When I was practicing to be the presenter, I had to overcome shyness and public speaking. Doing so actually prepared me for what I do now. By the way, I started training the team before the deadline date I set for being a presenter. And I still do it, 4 years later.

The moral of the story is, what you think is your dream job, spouse, home, etc. may be just the tip of the iceberg. Some of you may have almost had it, but it somehow slipped through your fingers. Some of you have reached your goal, and were disappointed because it wasn’t what you thought it would be. What if your supposed destination was simply a rest stop? Keep it moving, and your preparations for your dream may lead you to something even better!

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

5 thoughts on “How to Find Your Purpose”

  1. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

    Like

  2. Hola! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got
    the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas!
    Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

