How to Speed Up a Recovery

How I helped my mother overcome a serious illness

There’s an old saying that goal-setting works best with a deadline attached.

In 2011, my mother got sick and was placed in rehab. So sick that she could barely speak in full sentences or walk. 3 of her friends were there with me during my first visit. All of them, plus her best friend who wasn’t there, were openly cynical of Mom’s recovery. I was never too worried or very optimistic; I figured that whatever would happen, would happen.

As time went by, Mom gradually regained her mental state, and then her mobility improved. That was when I lost all doubt about her health. By the end of first quarter 2012, she seemed well enough to leave. I spoke to her social workers, who advised against letting her go. They gave me excuse after horror story, after excuse, after what-if, basically saying that her health will get even worse than ever if she leaves. I listened for a while, but it was rapidly becoming obvious to everyone but them that Mom was ready to leave.

One day, I wrote out a statement just for the sake of it. I wrote that my mother would leave rehab by Mother’s Day, fully healthy. I wasn’t that serious about it; I just wanted to set a deadline because I had just heard it in a YouTube video by Brian Tracy.

My mother came home exactly one week before Mother’s Day 2012, which was a month after I wrote the statement. She walked right out, completely healthy. To this day, she’s much, much better than what the rehab and her friends thought.

So our lesson for today is to set a deadline for your goals.

Most people say that you’re supposed to think about the specific outcome all the time. As my story and Law of Attraction teachers such as Abraham Hicks can attest, the neutral approach also works. As I was pretty new to personal development at the time, I didn’t visualize my mother coming home, nor say affirmations, nor anything major; I just went on with my life. That’s not to say that that stuff doesn’t work, I’m just saying that in this case, they weren’t a necessity.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

Leave a Reply

