What DO You Like About Your Enemies?

There must be SOMETHING good behind all that evil

I’m just curious, is there someone in your life that you don’t get along with? Someone at work or in your apartment building who really knows how to push your buttons? Would it be okay if you could lessen the anger you feel around them?

My mother had a certain friend whom I didn’t particularly like. Let’s call her Rhonda. When Mom spent 2008 in a nursing home, and rehab in 2011 due to an illness, Rhonda was there to drive me to visit her, and to the supermarket. She also taught me about paying bills. Naturally, I had to see her quite a bit and get to know her. Her personality was very obnoxious to mostly everyone, so I grew to dislike her.

In May 2011, I began to take personal development seriously. I found a Zig Ziglar lecture on writing down the things we do like about negative circumstances. In regards to Rhonda, I wrote a list of things I like about her.

Weeks after writing this list, I got a phone call from Rhonda. She told me she was moving from New Jersey to Georgia. This was completely out of the blue. Mom and I haven’t seen or heard from her since summer 2011!

A similar testimony was featured in The Secret. The film said that when you focus on the things you do like about people or the places where you see them, one of two things happen. Either they stop doing the things that bug you, or they leave your life altogether, by moving away, getting promoted, or something of that effect.

Has the person you dislike ever taught you anything? Did you like them at all when you first met? What did you like about them at that time? Do they dislike you as much as you dislike them? Do you see them every day? There’s no limit to how many things to write. Even if you have to reach for the slightest positive traits about the person — such as the two of you having the same favorite food — write it down. Whenever you see that person, focus on everything you wrote.

There’s an old saying that whether you choose to look for the good or the bad, you’ll always find it. Law of attraction brings into your life what you focus on. If you focus on the good things about people, you’re more likely to repel their negative side, and attract the positive sides of them.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

1 thought on “What DO You Like About Your Enemies?”

  1. Jibriel you know i love you you are so smart and loving and insprirational. Your a great assest to the team in ameriplan because you live a positive knowledge filled life . Im proud to know you. The team aptly calls you lil karyl our mentor .why because you are the real deal and i love you. Joan stevens -yates

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

