Are You Being Persistent or Insane?

A must-read for anyone who is stuck in their business

Let me share an experience I’ve had with work. In my early years, most people I knew were using and teaching the 3-foot rule, cold calls, postcard marketing, and very few other things. So I did the same. I consistently passed out flyers, made cold calls to lists of leads, stalked my warm market until they all got restraining orders, etc. No matter how often I did the work, I rarely got results, and it was very frustrating and time-consuming.

As much as I hated each and every one of those methods, I kept doing it because that’s all I saw and was taught. Other people were doing it and it worked for them. If it didn’t work for me, I thought I had to do it some more. Can you relate to this?

Eventually, I decided to look outside my inner circle. I searched online for tools, strategies, anything that would help me. Something I found very interesting is that there are many different styles of working. Some people put their own twist on what I had been doing. Some shunned what I had been doing. Some were teaching the exact opposite of what my colleagues were telling me. And yes, some taught me things that actually worked. So well that I actually got more results in that one year than the previous 2 years combined! I soon created a work style that not only brings in results, but often makes work fun.

The lesson I learned was that the way we do business is simply a case of diff’rent strokes for diff’rent folks. Different people tend to have either a head start or a slow start over others in regards to influence, communication skills, budgeting, etc. One person may be terrible with computers, but constantly be bringing 5+ guests to events with the 3-foot rule. Another may be a master at internet marketing, but terrible with in-person sales. It’s not that the method doesn’t work or that the person isn’t doing it enough. The issue is that everything doesn’t work for everyone at the time.

Of course, anyone can learn how to do anything if they are willing to make the effort to do so. If you want to learn how to get better at marketing tools you’re not good at right now, go for it. If not, network marketing legend Tom “Big Al” Schreiter has an interesting perspective on those dreaded comfort zones. Instead of immediately jumping into the uncomfortable zone, why not do what you can do within your comfort zone?

One thing that helped me create my style was to identify my general likes and dislikes, and skills and challenges. Then use tools and strategies that match those likes and skills, and minimize the stuff that I have issues with. I enjoy walking, and I have a high walking endurance. This makes my favorite and most successful tool — polybags — easy and fun. The ease and fun motivate me to be consistent at it. As a result, I constantly have leads calling me. That is the meaning of the quote “If you do what you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.”

If you’re consistently using tools and strategies that aren’t working and you dread work for that reason, it’s time to find other ways. No matter what anyone says, no matter how successful they are with certain tools, there is no “all-be-all” way to work your network marketing business. There are countless marketing methods beyond what you see around you. And that’s why I recommend you get into self-training, because I would not have known this otherwise. Here are a few tools you can use:

Dropcards

Car magnets

Google Adwords

Bing Ads

Brochure holders and card holders

And for tips on what to say to prospects, I suggest you follow Marquel Russell on YouTube, and look up the books and seminars of former fellow shy guy Tom “Big Al” Schreiter.

I suggest that you create a style based on your personality. What do you like doing? What are you good at? How can you combine those answers with work? A simple YouTube or Google search will help, as there’s an abundance of free videos, articles, etc. out there that will not only show you new marketing tools, but will teach you some powerful ways to use them.

Make a nice day!

Author: realdealjh

Great morning, great afternoon, and great evening! My name is Jibriel Holloway, and this is where I share the things I learn on my journey of personal development and in business. Hopefully, you get something out of it that will skyrocket your life!

3 thoughts on “Are You Being Persistent or Insane?”

Leave a Reply

